Best long run ever and proper fueling.

Happy lazy Sunday afternoon everyone!

I’m very excited because I just finished the best long run of my life. Reason: no tummy troubles. Every run I’ve ever had over 10 miles includes a very uncomfortable gut during the second half of the run and after. I’m starting to experiment with new fueling options, and todays hydration/fuel really was spot on. Here’s what the run looked like at a glance:

IMG_0627

Sunday February 15, 2015

Time of day: 11:41 am

Distance: 11.01 miles on bike path

Time: 1:57:39

Pace: 10:41 (30 seconds per mile slower than my goal marathon pace.)

Shoes: Hoka Huaka (and CEP merino compression socks)

Temp: 45 F

Strength: x

Stretch: Yes

Foam Roll: Yes

Pre run food: Energy bites (2) and Ultima

During run food: 3 Margarita Shot Bloks every 45 minutes, 2 cups water with 1 packet total Ultima

Sleep: 7

Overall: Great! No trouble (small blisters).

I never knew just how key fueling is to our performance as runners. I’m learning that for my stomach, powerade and other sugary “fuel” drinks are a no. Drinks for me need to be strictly for hydration purposes. Ultima is an electrolyte replenisher and provides vitamins and minerals but no sugar or carbs. I’m using other sources for fuel instead, toying with Shot Bloks right now. Anything flavored like a margarita is a win in my book!

5c7e8724603998310e0b6524a4abcab5

(source)

The rest of the weekend has been a perfect mix of relaxing, productivity, and chocolate.Friday night I went to a wine and chocolate night at a local art museum. This museum displays beautiful art made by people with mental and physical disabilities. I was blown away by the talent and creativity displayed in so many different ways. Best part: there was a belly dancing show!

IMG_0616

I came home after work on Saturday to veggie-filled black bean soup made my thoughtful husband.

IMG_0624

You can find the recipe here.

Annnd a fancy chocolate treat for dessert. He said it’s supposed to be the best in the hills. 2 chocolates down, one to go, and I couldn’t agree more.

IMG_0623

After dinner, we decided to bite the bullet and go TV shopping. Sam and I have been going without TV for several months now, and it’s been awesome because it allows us to spend time talking, reading, cooking, and getting outside without the TV distracting us. Now, we’ve made good habits of activity, and are ready for some Netflix dates. 🙂 Love that he’s so handy! Cuz I have trouble unfolding a lawn chair.

IMG_0625IMG_0626

Also, you know you might have a problem when you’re making a second cup of coffee while finishing the first. Always be prepared.

IMG_0621

Now off to enjoy some recovery  Gilmore Girls time and make dinner!

Question:

What is your fueling plan for long runs? (Ultima and Shot Bloks)

How many miles did you run this weekend? (16 total, 5 and 11)

Have a great week everyone! Keep running!

Emily

Leave a Reply

