Tips for becoming a morning runner and treadmill walking workout.

Happy Monday y’all!

This weekend was filled with lots of fun and family time, but the most exciting part was our new family member.

IMG_0014

I am super excited to have a treadmill! I always prefer to run outside, even in snow and rain, but it’s great to have this option when it’s dark out or I just need a change of pace. Thank you to my wonderful husband for supporting my running by carrying it up two flights of stairs. He’s a boss.

I ended up doing my long run on it last night- my first evening run in almost a year. That got me thinking about how I’ve grown to love my morning runs.

Most of my life I’ve been an evening runner. I HATED running in the morning. I was tired, groggy, and crabby on morning runs. Then, about a year and a half ago, I decided to force myself to become a morning runner. I always despised envied those people who jumped out of bed, perky and way to peppy. But I found my nights being filled with work events or I would come home too tired and hungry and skip my run. Not ok. So I did it. I made it a goal to do all my runs in the morning before work for 1 month. I did it, and I loved it. The first few weeks of any routine change are challenging, but I’ve found that I’m more awake all day, rarely skip a workout, can handle stress better, and feel accomplished all day. Also, very importantly, I sleep a lot better. Here’s how I made the change.

IMG_0283

Tips for becoming a morning runner: 

1. Don’t hit the snooze. Get up on the first alarm. If you let going back to sleep become an option, you’ll probably choose it. Getting out of bed is the hardest part.

2. Have your running clothes set out the night before. The less work you have to do in the morning, the more likely you are to stick with it. I’ve even been known to sleep in my running clothes.

3. Take 10 minutes for wake up time before you go. This works for me, to know I have a few minutes to have a cup of tea first helps me look forward to waking up.

4. Make a plan. Don’t just tell yourself you’re getting up to run. Have a set goal for your workout, like, “I will run 4 miles,” or “I will run/walk for 30 minutes,” etc.

5. Do it. Don’t this about it so much. 🙂

The rest of the weekend looked like this:

6 beautiful miles.

IMG_0633

A good night with the hubby at the Independent Ale House.

IMG_0639

Sam and I moved our Valentines Day to this weekend instead, and got the fanciest hotel room I’ve been in. I may have taken two baths in this baby within an 8 hour period. (Hint: I did.)

IMG_0642

Off to have a super productive Monday- groceries, meetings, cleaning. But first, a cross training day for me, so I thought I’d try a new treadmill walking workout!

9a58ddd65f8293408a94010943800e21

(source)

Question:

Do you prefer treadmill running or running outside? (Outside)

Are you a morning or evening exerciser? Why? (Morning- lots of reasons, shared above)

Have a motivated monday!

Emily

Leave a Reply

